United in Service to Our Community Since 1910

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is ultimately responsible for the financial management of all activities of The Woman's Club. It meets the third Monday of every month.  Board members are elected to two-year terms. Board officers (President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer) are elected to one-year terms.

Patti Kopach - President

Click here to read about Patti Kopach.

Patti Kopach joined the Board of Directors in 2016 and currently serves as President of the WCA and Co-Chair of the Archives, Governance and Rental Committees. She is looking forward to retiring in September 2021, after working as a paralegal for the past 17 years. Patti is very active in the WELCA group at her church and also holds a position with the Capital Region Italian American Bar Association. She has spent much of her adult life volunteering in a variety of settings. Patti lives in Latham with her husband Matt and their rescue barn cat and in-house life coach, Lenny.

Paula Hennessy - Vice President

Click here to read about Paula Hennessy.

Paula Hennessy joined the Board of Directors in 2020 and chairs the Programs Committee. Paula retired from New York State as a Human Resources and Training Specialist, supervising contracts, curriculum development and multimedia presentations. She was later Director of Education and Training at the Public Employees Federation with oversight for the labor and job-specific education of 54,000 members. A community activist, she serves on several not-for-profit boards, and volunteers in the community. Ms. Hennessy is a committeeperson in the city of Albany.

Sara Hotopp - Secretary

Click here to read about Sara Hotopp.

A member since 2014, Sara was on the Albany Woman's Club Board from 2016 to 2018, served on the Building, Nominating and Honorary Holiday Party committees, and was also the Membership Committee Chair. Sara currently serves on the Strategic Planning Committee and was appointed as Board Secretary in 2020. Sara is a reading specialist for the Voorheesville School District and was an elected union representative and member of the Teachers' Association Executive Committee. She is a member and also a past President of the Albany City Area Reading Council, and is a local food pantry volunteer.

Deborah Kaminski - Treasurer

Click here to read about Deborah Kaminski.

Deborah Kaminski has been the Treasurer of the Woman's Club since July 2020. In addition to serving on the Board of Directors, she serves on the Finance and Development committees. She is Professor Emerita of Mechanical Engineering at RPI. In the past decade, she has written three science fiction novels and is working away at her fourth.

Monica Trabold - President Elect

Click here to read about Monica Trabold.

Monica joined the Board of Directors in 2020 and chairs the Communications Committee. Recently retired from South Colonie Schools where she taught French and Spanish for 34 years, she also served as Department Coordinator, as a mentor teacher and cooperating teacher. She taught World Language Teaching Methodology at UAlbany for 3 years and is excited to join Clarkson University as an adjunct clinical supervisor in 2021. Monica has been the president of the South Colonie Friends of Music since 2016, and is growing a business as voice actor Monica French. She lives in Colonie with her family.

Directors at Large

Adrienne Bonilla

Click here to read about Adrienne Bonilla.

Adrienne D. Bonilla, Esq. has worked for the State University of New York in several capacities since 1989. For the past 18 years, she has served as the Research Compliance Officer at the University at Albany. In this role, she oversees the university's responsible conduct of research program and ensures the University’s compliance with federal regulations, state laws, and ethical principles governing research. Adrienne was among the first women that joined the WCA as new members in 2004 and contributed to the successful revival of the WCA. She joined the WCA Board as a Director in 2020. She is from Brooklyn, NY, and lives in Albany with her husband, Chris.

Susan Finn

Marilyn Hunter

Click here to read about Marilyn Hunter.

Marilyn D. Hunter joined the Board of Directors in 2021 and chairs the Development Committee. Retired now, she was an educator and administrator at Emma Willard School in Troy for 40 years, teaching Spanish, French, Italian and Latin American History. She also worked in Residence, was Dean of Students and Language Division chair, coached the Mock Trial team and advised the yearbook production at different times over the years. She served on the board of the Open Door Student Exchange program out of Long Island and was the faculty representative to the Emma Willard Board of Trustees. She is also a recent past President of Vanguard-Albany Symphony. Marilyn lives in Brunswick with her husband, Scott. They have three children and five grandchildren.

Martha McCormick

Click here to read about Martha McCormick.

Martha joined the Board of Directors in June 2021 after being a member for several years. Her work and career have always been related to counseling and education. She worked for nearly 25 years in Student Life at RPI, then in Consulting and Training for Capital EAP in Albany, and most recently as Director of Education for To Life!, a local Breast Cancer Support Services organization. Now retired, Martha is excited to become more involved with the WCA and work toward its mission to serve the community.

Pattie Beeler

The Woman's Club of Albany

725 Madison Avenue • Albany • New York • 12208

(518) 465-3626

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software